Written by Junaid's Pen

My pen says it all

Talking Impressively

with 2 comments

I have enjoyed a very interesting respectful school and college life. I wasn’t bad with friends, teachers didn’t hate me, I could debate; definitely not up to standards of politicians or orators but of school level. One interesting thing that I was filler for any missing person in the morning assembly … I mean to say, if there was no one available to recite the Holy Quran to start the day, I had been available to do that; if there was no one to sing the national anthem, at your service; if there was no one to make morning speech, I was always there.

Here I want to share one of the morning speeches I did at my school morning assemble, as it was extempore so it was never documented. So, here it is after almost 10 years.

“Today I will try to explain the difference between casual talking and talking impressively. By casual talking I mean, the normal style of chatting by using usual words we do every day. Impressive talking can be the way of expressing ourselves by selective specific words so the listener can be affected. I will try to explain by two examples.

Take an example of final match of badminton tournament. I have played the final match and lost it; and if I have to break this news to one of my best friends, there can be two ways to do that. I can say, “Sorry, I lost the final match”, if he is very good friend of mine definitely he will share my feelings and will feel sad, which is a natural response. But If I tell him that, “I stood runner-up in the badminton tournament” definitely my friend will be very excited by listening to this good news. So you can see that, to difference sentences having same meanings but totally different expressions of the listener.

Once upon a time there was king; more like my childhood story … 😀 …. Anyways, there was a king who had a dream which was making him crazy. He needed to know what that dream meant and why it has been driving him crazy. He called upon one dream teller; after listening to the king’s dream the teller said, “Your family will die in front of you.” This made the king very angry and he ordered his men to chop off his head. He called upon other dream teller who was famous for his wise. When king asked him about his dream, the wise dream teller said, “You will lead the longest life among your family.” This made king very family and granted him gold.”

This story might sound childish, but you can see that two sentences completely different from each other but having same meanings had exactly opposite effect on the next person.

So always talk impressively as it affects the feelings of the other person … :)”

Written by Junaid

February 21, 2011 at 4:36 PM

Posted in Life

Tagged with , , , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Talking Impressively […]

  2. hehe, i like the story, the king is a little …, you know.:D

    Anne

    May 14, 2011 at 6:11 AM


Leave a comment