Written by Junaid's Pen

My pen says it all

Slept in 2010, woke up in ‘11

with 4 comments

Most of you must be thinking that I have written my subject as a metaphor to show my laziness of last year 2010 and ambition to work hard in 2011 … well! it’s not like that. There is no metaphor here, it means literally that I slept on 31 December 2010 at 11pm and woke up on 1st of January 2011 at 7 early mornings because it was my work day. People around the world were celebrating, I don’t know why they were happy; but I was getting ready for work. But question is why the world is always celebrating the beginning of a year? What is so happy it? May be New Year bonus! ; But why to waste them

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Before writing this article I tired to read something about the Gregorian calendar or Western calendar which is mostly used around the world. I came to know some very interesting facts; like Gregorian calendar is named after Pope Gregory the thirteen in 1582 by a signed decree and some of the arithmetic discoveries like this calendar counts days as the basic unit of time, grouping them into years of 365 or 366 days; and repeats completely every 146,097 days, which fill 400 years, and which also happens to be 20,871 seven-day weeks. Of these 400 years, 303 (the “common years”) have 365 days, and 97 (the leap years) have 366 days. This gives an average calendar-year length of exactly 365.2425 days, or 365 days, 5 hours, 49 minutes and 12 seconds.

Before I use to think, the earth completes its revolution around the sun in 365 days; so people celebrate to hurry the earth that YOU DID IT!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Whole night I watched the news of beautiful and colourful fireworks going on in New Zealand, Australia and china; as they were among the first countries to welcome the new year. On the first day everyone wished me Happy New Year and told stories what they did. I wished them back as formality but reminded them that I am always happy. (alhumdulillah)

At the end I would like to say one thing; everyday is a new day, new beginning bringing its new day celebrations. So keep enjoying everyday of your life with colourful fireworks. Still I would like to wish happy New Year to everyone; may this year bring peace, happiness and blessings to the whole world.

Never mind the article, it is just my silly way of wishing.

Written by Junaid

January 4, 2011 at 11:48 AM

Posted in New Year

Tagged with , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thumbs up….nicely done boy…

    imran

    January 5, 2011 at 9:04 PM

    • thanks man …
      keep on reading and commenting … 😉

      Junaid

      January 5, 2011 at 10:02 PM

  2. very nice. I appreciate your way of thinking. That’s almost what I think on new years but I’m not good in writing articles.

    Sana

    March 9, 2012 at 3:14 PM

    • thanks for liking … me neither by the way

      Junaid

      March 11, 2012 at 4:44 PM


Leave a Reply

